Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does Creating A Foreign PSN Account Violate Sony's Terms of Use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Does Creating A Foreign PSN Account Violate Sony's Terms of Use?

Okay, so I'm a little new to the wonderful world of PS3, but I've decided to create a US PSN account (for cheaper games and 60hz PS1 stuff). I skimmed through the "Terms of Service and User Agreement" and didn't see anything objecting to making an account that isn't based on your actual country of residence, but I did see that SCEA can totally screw your **** up (scroll down to "13.TERMINATION / CANCELLATION") if you do something they don't like. Now I'm scared. Can anyone who took the time to read all that confirm whether there's nothing about making a foreign account in the Terms of Service and User Agreement?

Also, I'm assuming it's possible to make one account for buying stuff (with fake country and age (since the ESRB has content restricted to 17 that is only restricted to 15 here in Australia, and I'm caught in between)) and another for playing online (with real country and age), right?

Ive had about 5 accounts since i got my PS3 about 3 years ago, japanese , Hong Kong, 2 UK accounts 1 for buying the other playing , plus a US account which ive purchased loads of stuff with US PSN cards. So dont sweat it, long as your doing nothing illegal ( ie i mean jailbreak )you'll be fine, welcome to the club :P

Comment

3 accounts (EU, US, JPN) on a US PS3 and EU PSP-2000, downloaded DLC, games and demos from all regions on both machines just fine. I don't see Sony (or even MS) changing their digital "region locking" policies in the near future.

Comment

Meh, I have an account per region. Main account is my JP one due to DLC on my JP copy of BBCS and to come - AH3.

Comment

I have accounts for Europe, Japan, USA, and Asia.