Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Armored Core

So, I'm in the need for giant robots.

I've only played AC on the PS2, liked it, but for some reason ignored the series after that.

What's the best Armored Core game out, for any platform?
    And what's the best I can get for the PS3/X360?

Originally posted by briareos_kerensky View Post
    So, I'm in the need for giant robots.

I've only played AC on the PS2, liked it, but for some reason ignored the series after that.

What's the best Armored Core game out, for any platform?

And what's the best I can get for the PS3/X360?
    That's a difficult question to answer, as the Armored Core games fit into groups.

I'm not an expert like some people I've spoken to online, but I would categorise them as follows:

• Armored Core, and the PS1 games that came after, which shared a common engine and general feel
    • Armored Core 2 on PS2, which I didn't get along with
    • Armored Core 3 and the games derived from its gameplay
    • Armored Core Formula Front 1/2 on PSP which were quite different
    • Armored Core 4 and For Answer on Xbox 360/PS3
    • Armored Core V and Verdict Day on 360/PS3

Each of these groupings generally plays similarly to the others in the group (though naturally incremental changes did occur). They share a universe and history, but the story between them isn't that contigious.

If you're picking on PS3 era platforms, your choices are really betweel the last two groups, and then it's a matter of personal taste.

If you're interested in multiplayer, I suspect you'd have to go for Verdict Day (I think the servers in V have now been turned off) - though as you're in Japan (that right?) you may still find decent activity online in For Answer.