F355 Challenge - 2000

Le Mans 24 Hours - 2000

Sega GT - 2000

4 Wheel Thunder - 2000

Tokyo Highway Challenge 2 - 2000

Metropolis Street Racer - 2000

Daytona USA 2001 - 2000

Which one do you like the most?
    Last edited by Leon Retro; 20-07-2018, 15:53.

Considering Sega's brilliant racing history, I think racing games on the DC were a bit lacking.

I quite enjoyed F355 at the time, but I haven't played it in years, so I'm not sure how well it stands up. I guess that's probably the high point. Daytona was good, but as had been mentioned in the dedicated thread, it's not really as good as the arcade game (despite the graphical upgrade). I thought MSR was ok at the time, but is there much reason to play it today instead of one of the Project Gotham games? (I'm not an expert, maybe there is?). Sega Rally 2 was quite a poor conversion and I thought 4 Wheel Thunder and Le Mans were pretty bad at the time (I remember people suggesting Le Mans would be a Gran Turismo 3 killer!?).

My favourite Dreamcast racers would probably be Outrun on the Yu Suzuki pack/Shenmue 2, or the mighty Re-Volt! (the best console version of a game I love!)

It's a shame that the teased port of Scud Race never happened, or that the DC wasn't around long enough for the Outrun 2 exclusive! (I always wonder how well it would've been able to handle it)
    Last edited by ZipZap; 20-07-2018, 16:42.

Comment

Originally posted by ZipZap View Post

I quite enjoyed F355 at the time, but I haven't played it in years, so I'm not sure how well it stands up.
      I thought it was brilliant back in the day The graphics were pretty amazing for the time, and I enjoyed the demanding realism of how it played. I often go back to it and think it still looks really nice. But the feel of the car annoys me more than it did years ago.

Daytona was good, but as had been mentioned in the dedicated thread, it's not really as good as the arcade game (despite the graphical upgrade).