Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Custom Robo: Battle Revolution

How do folks....

Thanks to Kubrick, I got this the other day. Fairly decent game so far, nothing special but still pretty cool all the same

Basically, the core gameplay is versus mecha battles, where you play for more parts to customise your battle suit. Forgive me if I get all the terminology wrong, I have no experience of the series and it's an NTSC-J version so some of the text is wasted on me

The bulk of the title comes in the form of an adventure mode, were the player assumes the role of a young boy, who comes across a battle suit and goes to work 'doing things' like helping people out, investigating stuff, etc... which usually boils down to a battle of some kind. Win, and you get more parts, lose and... well, you can try again Progress is saved after each encounter...

The adventure stuff is fairly basic overall, you can't really go wrong with it. Lot's of text, so anyone wary of the language should probably avoid -- there are a few exams too, as you're trained in the ways of Custom Robo fighting. The overall world map is a simple point-to-point affair, so it's not like you can get lost. For the most part, the game involves going to your boss, finding out where you have to go next and then having a scrap with some other mechs

Battles play out well, viewed from above a virtual arena, kinda like Powerstone. Battles start with your mech being fired from a gun, across the arena; here, your mech is just a cube, which needs to 'start-up' before you can begin fighting. This may take some time, depending on how your cube lands but button-mashing helps. Once you're up, start shooting Even if the other mech isn't 'awake' yet, go for it anyway (so make sure you're up first, as this works the other way around too!).