Buying contact lenses via the net!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying contact lenses via the net!

Is this possible in anyone's experience? I ask as I need new contacts but I am fed up with having to go to the opticians for an eye check every time I want new lenses, as racket to keep them busy. I have been wearing them for 17 years so I know the in and outs. I know the type I want, the BC the DIA and the strength so I wonder if it can be done.

I am not in the UK by the way, so I am looking for a way to ship them.

Just speculating but I imagine it can't be done - it's a matter of healthcare, and for every person who knows what they are doing there will be ten muppets who order completely the wrong thing and screw up their eyesight even further.

There is most likely some form of legislation to ensure people always have the supervision of an optician (and if there isn't, there should be!)

I'm interested to know too though as it would be very convenient, haha

Comment

yep done this loads but i am in the uk. if you do a google search loads of places come up and im sure some of them must ship internationally.

Comment

Will check, thanks.

Darwock, I know what you mean but in the end, they don't require much thought though. It's not like a powerful medicine that needs to be prescription only. Honestly, part of the reason is to keep opticians in business, not that they will admit such.
        Last edited by Richard.John; 29-05-2009, 14:32.

Comment

My brother in law buys his contact lenses from America (and gets them shipped to the UK). Gets a years supply at a time. It's perfectly possible so long as you know your prescription.

Comment

http://www.yourlenses.ie/ i get mine from there

i get my eyes checked and know my prescription works out alot cheaper

Comment