This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Work experience in IT (ICT?)

I've been sending letters and emails for many months now asking local IT companies for some type of work experience so I can make a start with that sort of career. I've never had a single reply though. Is there any way to go about this better? I've tried to be honest and say that I have no experience in IT or qualifications as in practice, I couldn't convincingly 'fake' knowing about something I have no professional experience with or ever taken a course in. I don't know anyone who works in IT either so have no contacts to ask directly.

OK, to be honest, if I got a letter through from someone wanting work experience in a field they have no prior experience in, or qualifications then I doubt I'd bother writing back. You kinda need one or the other. Could you offer your services out locally, fixing PCs etc. and earn some bucks form that? You'd learn on-the-job so to speak and then could eventually write an honest letter to companies detailing things you actually know and have experience in?

Comment

I honestly don't have the skills to do that. I wouldn't go about claiming I could do things that I can't or don't know how to do. Also, I am interested in IT work rather than technician work too, if that makes sense, proper IT work. I have got no-existing skills at the moment though, use a web browser, write a basic document, move files about between folders, that's it really.

Comment

Get an MCSA book and start going through tasks on your own computer to get some basic skills up, at least that way you can show to potential employers that you are working towards a qualification.

Try applying to any local schools to see if you can job shadow the IT department (will need CRB clearance - they will prob do that for you).