Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Car Insurance Question

Hopefully a quick answer from somebody who knows, the situation is:

I currently have one car which the wife uses each day for the little ones etc and I get the train to work. I have been offered a new job where I will need a car to get to work. I'm not going to use the family car as the wife needs it.

My parents currently have a spare car which they insure, tax and is in their name(s) which I'm a named driver on with fully comp insurance. So I was going to use their spare car to get to and from work. It's not going to increase the annual mileage from an insurance point of view as it's hardly used at the moment so me using it to and from work is still going to be below the annual mileage currently given to the insurers.

Is there any problem doing the above? Can my parents be the registered owners and insurers with me as a named driver when in effect I will doing most of the driving and mileage?

One other question the new company have asked for business insurance on the vehicle I'm going to be using rather than standard insurance. Would that add much to the premiums and I'm assuming my parents would have to do that as part of their insurance.

Eventually I will buy my own vehicle (or buy my parents from them) but in the medium term I was planning to use their spare car.

Help please? Thanks...

As long as you're a named driver you're fine. I've had company cars for a while now so I'm not sure what business insurance costs but it does ramp up the premium over SD&P. Also do they want you to use the car as part of your job or just be insured for commuting? Because those are two different things.

Comment

If you are just driving to and from work, why would you need business insurance?

Comment

Don't do it. You're not insured doing that.