Anyone here work in the games industry?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone here work in the games industry?

I'm an artist and I got made redundant last year from my last job and I still haven't got a new one which is seriously starting to piss me off now. I'm in the north west which is a real ball buster as there's literally nothing here.

so anyone in the forums work in the games industry and know of any openings for an artist within commutable distance of manchester?

Luke

The resource for people who make and sell games.

There are people who work for companies here but the chances of them having a say in recruitment, needing an artist and being within commuting distance of Manchester are probably slim.

Just keep sifting through the recruitment sites.

Comment

yeah, I know. I've looked everywhere. This time last year I was turning down jobs. now it's totally screwed. I think maybe I should try something new. it's a **** business.

Comment

Loads of games companies out there. I finish my computer animation degree in a few weeks and will be starting to send off applications to every country in Scotland for starters. Just find every company in the area you'd be willing to travel to and send a portfolio etc.

Comment

Get in contact with a recruiter. Aardvark Swift got me sorted when I got made redundant earlier this year.

Comment

all things I've done. I think what it boils down to is the north west being a total deadzone at the moment. I'm signed up with about 6 agencies at least. aardvark swift used to be good. they got me a job in the past but when you call them now they just tell you its dead. sadly, the fact that I'm in a relationship and my partner has a job here makes it really difficult for me. I can't expect her to quit her job so I can get a job in some place that will likely fold in under a year and where the wages arent even that great anyway.

bollocks.

Comment

Originally posted by boxhead View Post
              bollocks.