Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Steven Hawkin book: The grand design

He writes:

"Spontaneous creation is the reason there is something rather than nothing, why the universe exists, why we exist."

I'm not a Cambridge professor, but isn't that the same as just saying:

"**** happens"

If that's what he spent his time doing he could have saved a lot of work by emailing me, I've know that **** happens for ages.

Last edited by capcom_suicide; 02-09-2010, 21:32.

In "The Universe In A Nutshell" I'm pretty sure I remember reading that most of the things he told us in A Brief History of Time he now believes to be incorrect.

In short, you're wasting your time listening to anything he says.

Comment

That's the nature of science isn't it- constantly questioning everything and refining theories and knowledge in general? A natural consequence of that is that lots of theories are demolished altogether.

Comment

Originally posted by endo View Post
        That's the nature of science isn't it- constantly questioning everything and refining theories and knowledge in general? A natural consequence of that is that lots of theories are demolished altogether.
        Which is why I sometimes get annoyed when people who blindly follow science and claim to know the truth, because we have proved it, only for their "facts" to be later called rubbish by some other scientist a few years down the line. They should says things like, "this is what we currently believe to be true", rather than "we have proven the exsistence of..."
        I don't want to sound like a luddite or hater of science, because that would be stupid, but I sometimes feel that some people who claim to be rational thinkers almost worship science in the same way that religious people worship a god that they claim to know for a fact doesn't exsist.
        I am not religious by the way. Just confused.

Comment

Originally posted by capcom_suicide View Post