Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Learning to read Japanese as a total beginner

Hi all

I'm interested in learning Japanese. I've thought about taking evening classes at SOAS, but they're expensive and I'm wondering if it might be better to pick up some reading comprehension first. Does anyone who's studied Japanese have any recommendations for where I should start? Is katakana the best place to begin? And what tools are favoured here? I know there's no shortage of books, apps, CDs, DS games and what have you, but I'd really like some recommendations.

I'm a total beginner. However I do know the word SUGOI.

Thanks.

You want to join our Monster Hunter team right?
    Kept you waiting, huh?

Comment

Sole reason for post

Comment

You need to start with hiragana, that is the alphabet used for native words then move on to katakana for foreign words.

I have classes and use the Minna no Nihongo text book. You want to get the one in Japanese and then a yellow covered book that gives you the translation and grammar explanation. You can get them cheaper second hand off Amazon.

For learning the characters off by heart, you want to just keep using and reading them so having a text book in Japanese will help. I also use memrise.com to practice character recognition.

Comment

Minna no Nihongo? Everybody's Japanese? Or is it Hot Shots Japanese?? I'm learning already!

Thanks very much Chopemon, that's most helpful. Is it these ones?

Comment

Dude, you want to start with the Let's Learn books. Hiragana and Katakana will give you a great start BUT YOU NEED TO PRACTICE.
            Learn to write and you will be able to read.

Not really going to help you in MH though as it's aimed at the late teen/early 20s. Learn what you need from the game.

Comment

The MH thing was a joke anyway. If I was gonna play that in Japanese I'd play it in Japanese like a real man, with no absolutely no bloody idea what any of the moon runes mean.