iOS developers...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

iOS developers...

Anyone here done any iOS development? I have other questions but I'll start with that for now :-)

Yep. I made Wonton 51 with a friend. I'm not a coder but I can tell you how we made the game and released it.

Fire away!

Comment

Wow, that looks like radirgy.

Comment

Yeah, the art ended up being bright and colourful after an age of me trying different things. First stab at doing proper art for a game as well. Not great but looks ok!

Comment

I work in a team who make iOS apps so... fire away and I'll see what I can answer
          Lie with passion and be forever damned...

Comment

Originally posted by chopemon View Post
            Yeah, the art ended up being bright and colourful after an age of me trying different things. First stab at doing proper art for a game as well. Not great but looks ok!
            Looks great! So much talent on this forum.

Comment

Cool. I'm making an ipad app but I don't want to use all the normal tools like storyboards, wiring up connectors etc. I just want to do the whole thing programmatically. It doesn't look like this is a problem but just wondered if I'm headed for trouble down the line?

That's all for now. Thanks!

Comment

I learnt iOS development pre-storyboards, but use them whenever possible nowadays. It IS useful to know the alternate methods because storyboards can't do everything... in fact for pretty much every app that doesn't have a completely vanilla look you have to tweak the code in some arcane manner. Not talking about games ofc.

BUT in my opinion you'd be mad to handle it all that way: any new features are going to be designed, taught, documented, etc with modern xcode components in mind. Searching for old code snippets is only going to find you old stackoverflow answers, so you'll just be making it harder for yourself. You'll also end up with pre-ARC answers, which is a whole can of worms.