Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Retro Arcade Sticks you've tried and your comments.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Retro Arcade Sticks you've tried and your comments.

This just arrived today and thought I'd give it a go with Gynoug (also a new addition to my ever-evolving collection ) Anyway although it was a pleasant break from the norm I just didnt feel it as responsive as my 6-button sega pad. It was a bit of a dissapointment and not as comfortable as I first thought it would be..

The old Hori sticks for the PCE, Neo, Saturn and PS1 (i.e. the ones similar to this) are pretty sweet, nice short stick, pretty acurate and solid enough buttons. Certainly much better than 90% of the sticks out there. The DC stick is so-so but the stick tends to stick and/or just feel a bit heavy, really needs modding to do it justice.

Comment

Hmm, well I have a "Score Master" arcade stick for the Super Nintendo. I'm pretty sure it's official Nintendo product, I still have the original box.

It's got slow motion and auto-fire buttons (they were so popular back in the day, weren't they? I wonder why not now..?) and it's designed to look like a mini Super Nintendo.

It's pretty responsive and fairly comfortable. It's feels fairly cheap however, and there is no "clickyness" on the stick, which is kind of offputting, but it does the job very nicely, and is great for Street Fighter and good host of other games like Syndicate and all the SNES shooters. I'm gonna dig this out again soon actually .

Comment

My ASCIIWARE Super Advantage Stick for the SNES is shockingly bad. You have to hit the buttons from the top or they stick. The button layout also means that you can't have easy access to all 6 at the same time. Furhermore, the stick itself is really short, but it's useable.

Compared to my 6-Button Sega Arcade Power Stick II, the super advantage is kack. Of course, my Namco PS1 stick poops on them both.

Comment