Prog Scan input question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Prog Scan input question

Hi folks I've been sans a display device for my consoles for a while now, and spotted a lovely looking 20' Philips LCD TV for a decent price.

I believe it's the 20PF 9925, and according to the spec sheet it does progressive scan but the following input ports are all that are available.

- Euro A/V Connector (RGB in, CVBS in/out)
    - S-video Y/C (mini-DIN) in
    - Video CVBS (cinch) in
    - Audio L/R (cinch) in
    - Headphones (3.5mm jack) out

Now If I recall the Cube Prog Scan cable has a VGA style jack, which appears to have no input in this model. am I correct in saying that I won't be able to get this to do Prog Scan for a US Cube?

I'm no expert on this, but I think the VGA style input you mean is the D-Terminal cable. This is only used in Japan, the American equivalent is the Component connectors - the red, green and blue RCA style plugs.

Comment

Hmmmmm, I'm guessing the only way this display would support that is something through a SCART cable...which means for a US Cube I'm pretty much out of luck then.

-Sigh-

Comment

Originally posted by Baroque
        Hmmmmm, I'm guessing the only way this display would support that is something through a SCART cable...which means for a US Cube I'm pretty much out of luck then.

-Sigh-
        I tried to find a suitable component LCD. There are two available in the UK. A Toshiba one that you will find in John Lewis which is nice but small. And a Grundig one you'll find in Currys. Neither where as good as I required interms of image latency. Your next option is to import a LCD monitor with component plugged in.

The other option is to use a scaler with VGA out / component in which is what I use with my VGA monitor which is awesome. For console games, LCD just doesn't cut it imo though.

Cheers,
        Neil.

Comment