Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[ongoing project] Playing all versus fighters - chronologically!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[ongoing project] Playing all versus fighters - chronologically!

So here’s the thing: I love fighting games! I’m not very good at them and have no idea about guard cancels and dream counters and whatnot, but I love them. The characters, the gameplay, and most of all, the backgrounds! Particularly the pixel artworks of yesteryear.

There are sooo many games, though, and everything would start to blur together if I just played one title today and another one tomorrow. So this idea was born:

A few likeminded people and I meet up once a month and play two NEW games and a couple of the ones we already played in previous meetings. This way we get to know each game at least a little bit and we can appreciate it for what it is. At first the idea was to only focus on SNK and Capcom, the masters of pixel art (especially the former), but we expanded to titles from other companies just for diversity’s sake, and we also included 3D fighting games because hey, why not.

However, we are going about it somewhat chronologically. No, we’re not looking up release dates on Wikipedia, but there’s a rough timeline we’re following. This means we started with „Street Fighter 1“, or rather „Fighting Street“, and we are planning to work our way up to current gen. And yes, this will take a couple o’ years. We usually play one „important“ new games every time, i.e. something from SNK or Capcom, and one „lesser“ game, which doesn’t mean that that one cannot be excellent. It can!