Amnesia: The Dark Descent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Amnesia: The Dark Descent

There's a first play thread for the demo for this but none for the full game. It's been out a while so I'm guessing that's mostly just a lack of interest but I've been playing it and I felt it deserved a thread. It's a PC horror game by an indie who previously made some game I've never heard of (if I was doing this for a living I'd check what it was, honest).

The game opens in a dark old castle. You have amnesia, hence the title, so the game tells you pretty much nothing at the start except for giving you one memo to push you forward. As you explore early on, you see a bit of the castle, which is fairly typical - torches, bricks, suits of armour and big wooden doors. Nothing special, to be honest.

But you also quickly get a feel for how sanity works in the game. If you're in a panic, the screen distorts, goes all a bit weird and gets weirder unless you can find a safe spot in the light (or with your own light source). Spend too much time in darkness and your mind starts going a bit wobbly. And, when you see things that might freak you out (doors opening etc.), you get the same effect.

It seems your character is rather fragile.

Very early on, you find a note from your past self to yourself now. And so the story begins, which I won't go into. It's told through some flashbacks and your own diaries and everything happens in-game. There are very rare moments where the game will direct your gaze but everything happens as you play.