Money can't buy you love

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Money can't buy you love

Last night I spent 2 hours trying to win 1 particular race in the career mode of Forza. It was an RX7 Vs Supra race, downhill Kaido(b). Up to now, it's been locked, but I went to the shops and bought myself a MKII RX7, just to see what it was like. I couldn't afford a MKIII, so I was resigned to the fact that I was going to get beaten badly.

However, once I started playing, I quickly realised that its light weight was given it the edge in the corners, which was making up for the spanking I was taking on the straights and it didn't take me long to figure out a line through the traffic to win Kaido(a).

Spurred on by this, I tried Kaido(b). Now Kaido(b) has far fewer tight corners than (a) and a big long straight section at the end. This time I knew things were going to be tricky. Starting from the back of the grid every time due to simulated qualifying realising my car isn't suited to the job, I would have to work my way up through the field and be in first place before I got to the straight to have any chance of winning, probably by blocking the faster cars by swerving along the straight. After a couple of miserable efforts, I should have given up and gone to the tuning shop and splashed out on a better turbo or engine and some grippier tyres, but I had already decided I like the feel of the car and instead added minimal upgrades to ensure the car stayed within the D (lowest) category. The best upgrade seemed to be the limited slip diff which gave me much better drive out of the corners. The challenge was set. "I'm not just buying myself a win here".