Trippy visuals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trippy visuals

Don't know if this is really the right folder but.....

I'm listening to some music files on my PC right now in Windows Media Player and I've got the Alchemy visualiation running. Its quite nice.

And it made me think of Unity.

Now I'm a programmer by trade (and I think a pretty reasonable one) and I've fiddled with games stuff over the years. Minter says all his levels are mathematically generated. Presumably this kind of visualisation is too.

But what the freaky f*&^ kind of maths is this stuff using....

EDIT - had to get the word freaky in there

I have no idea about the answer to your question, but I figured this thread would be suitable to pimp one of my favourite winamp plugins, MilkDrop.

Comment

That's for Jeff to know and for the rest of us to speculate. Actually he regularly gets to show off progress to a select group of people to see what they think and get more ideas. But for the main part it's all Minter and his brain... can't really compete there

But yes, everything in WinAmp and Media Player is essentially "borrowed" from him
      Lie with passion and be forever damned...

Comment

I'm no programmer, mathematician or human, but I assumed that it could be something along the lines of:

Each note of the sound file that was used was given a value depending upon its pitch, tone and other musical words which I don't understand. Then put through some equation to give a graphical representation of it on the screen.

Now, this probably is no where near the truth. In fact I really can't see how it would work at all, but it makes sense to me, and makes it easy to understand in my head!

Sometimes it's better to follow in blind faith instead of questioning, I think!

Comment

It all runs along similar lines of the Chaos Theory...

Head-binning stuff. I use fractals for backdrops on my work sometimes using Fractal Explorer within KPT5.

Comment