Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Am I the only person who thinks SIlent Hill 3 is overrated?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I the only person who thinks SIlent Hill 3 is overrated?

I got this game the other day, after reading the reviews and stuff, and have to say I am very disappointed.

The in-game graphics to me are pixellated (maybe the wrong term),and rough looking, and the monsters are just plain ridiculous. The controls are awkward and the game does not draw you in as I fell it should right from the get go.

To highlight what I mean, I also bought Project Zero, and from the moment I started playing I was hooked, and ended up playing for a good few hours completly petrified. In contrast with SH3, after running around stabbing a dog for a few minutes my interest waned immensley.

I went back to SH3 for a few hours last night, but it still felt really bad. I felt no compulsion to go any further with, and I really couldn't see why everyone keeps banging on about the graphics and the psychlogical horror aspect. IMO Project Zero and RE Make on the Cube far superior in creating an aura of uneasiness.

What do you guys think of this game?

I quite liked it. A little on the short-side, but I found certain set-pieces unnerving. For instance:

Originally posted by spoiler
    the part where your in a blood-stained bathroom, it appears to be empty, you grab the items and just as your headed out the door, you hear the toilet door creak open.

OR

The part where your in the Hospital and the walls start "bleeding". That was probably one of my favourite moments from the game.

Comment