An Apology (of sorts)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

An Apology (of sorts)

I hate E3 week. I've been a games coder since I graduated in 1998, and there hasn't been an E3 since that I've enjoyed.

On the one hand, I'm like everyone else here. I'm a gamer, of the more hardcore end of the spectrum. I love seeing new cool games announced. I love playing games that other people hate as much as I love playing popular games.

But when something I'm actually working on is at E3, it burns me up in ways you can probably imagine. I have to work through horrendous cognitive dissonance. After all, how can I sit and mock a game showing poorly when everyone else is mocking the thing I'm pouring all my own working hours into?

It's bloody hard, and it turns me into a seriously touchy git of a man.

Our presentation is out the way now, so I hope I'll lighten up a bit now.

(You're still all wrong about pre-owned though )
    Last edited by Flabio; 06-06-2011, 23:32.

Apology accepted. Don't let it happen again

But seriously, it's just the wrong time to try and show your game. There was no way to express what the hell it was in that amount of time under those conditions, so the "what the hell is it?" reactions are pretty expected, which is obviously going to lead to "it looks no good" because nobody knows what it is. If you'd have made a rubbish FPS, at least everyone would have some expectations and be looking for certain stuff so you can maybe get away with a couple of minutes of play. It was never going to work, really.

Comment

Wouldn't worry about it. Some peeps are just set in thier ways and will never be converted or ever feel the need to be, ain't nowt wrong with that. Proof of the pudding is in the playing and at the end of the day it's only a highlights show, true test is when people pay ?25 quid for it second hand to play it and enjoy it

Comment

The Ignore list exist for a reason. Makes this place pleasant again.