This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bad Attitudes - Sexism

I went to a Video Games Masterclass... which was supposed to be about how to get in to the industry. My first degree is in Computer Science (2.1) and I am currently doing my Masters in Electronic Information... so you'd think I would have every reason to be there... but wait I'm female.

According to the speaker from Nokia - QA for the Ngage... I'm not supposed to like computer games... I'm supposed to be too busy trying to decide what to cook for tea - and therefore not have the attention span. He actually said - in front of eveyone. I can't explain how alienated I felt.

The rest of the panel agreed - and thought that perhaps Barbie and 'pink' games should be my thing... not FPS which I love.

I think I might actually write a complaint letter to Nokia. I can't believe that bad attitudes like that still exist in the Game Industry. This guy from Nokia actually interviews potential employees too.

That is trruly shocking. You'd think they'd be happy to have you there.

I don't know what's worse, the fact that the Nokia speaker actually came out and said something so insulting and patronising, or the fact that his panel agreed with him and no-one saw his remarks as wrong in any way.

So much for the fabled "level playing field".

Comment

Well there's lots of other things Nokia are unaware of in regards to the gaming scene

I like to hope on the whole games developers recognise that women can enjoy more than dance mat games! I guess the point is that most gamers are predominatly male, as a lady what recognition would you like to be given to yourself as a gamer? Do you want to see games being made any different for yourself?

Comment

I certainly don't want to be seen any differently at all. I like games, I am a gamer, it was only this stupid panel that picked on the issue of female gamers -not me.