DVD to VGA TFT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD to VGA TFT

A few weeks back I bought a LG Flatron L1915S TFT monitor, 12ms 1280x1024 @ 75Hz VGA monitor. Excellent.

Now, I watch DVD's on my PC now, as it puts my ****ty 14" TV to shame, and it looks lovely, but I'd like better, so I was looking at using the component on my DVD Player and hooking it directly into my monitor using this -

http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?cat...ducts_id=4233&

Now I'm a bit weary to be honest... there's no point in buying this if it's going to look like ass, or going to look exactly the same as playing DVD's on the PC... has anybody tried this box with DVD movies?

I assume there would be no issues with ghosting etc, they work fine on my PC after all, and it is a 12ms monitor... but I have no experience with VGA adaptors.

This is really just to see me through for now as I'm trying to avoid buying a new TV until HDTV's become a reasonable price (pretty long term, admittedly).
    Last edited by sj33; 30-06-2005, 05:58.

I'd look at getting VDigi's VGA box over that one, they're said to be the best one you can get for a low price. It's a bit more, but you'll appreciate the extra quality.

As for HDTVs, I'd say they're now coming down to reasonable prices with Samsung's LE23R41B at around ?500, LE26R41B at about ?600, and LE32R41B at ?800.

1366x768 native, all the inputs you should need, 800:1 contrast, 500cd/m2 brightness, 12ms response.

Comment

Didn't realise HDTV's were that cheap actually, well within my price range... is it wise to go for a cheap set though? I mean, no point going HD if they look mediocre, I've avoided Asda's cheapo LCD sets for the same reason.
      I'm not really after a huge screen, still at home with the parents in a tiny room, so...