Can you recomend me a C# book???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can you recomend me a C# book???

Im pretty much a beginer at coding (besides Pascal) although i have done a bit of stored procedure programing in the last few months.
    Anyhoo im looking into getting into C# and was wondering if someone can reccomed me a book that focuses on C# within the Visual Studio enviroment. I tried the Microsoft official guide and like almost all MS official books, found it all over the place frankly

So what do you reccomend? Remember i am a beginner!

I will reward the best bit of advice with gold!

*note, you will not actually recieve any gold from me*

*cough* *learn java*

only joking

Comment

Originally posted by kernow
      *cough* *learn java*

only joking

DIE SCUMMMM!

Comment

aww come on its not that bad, if you ever changed entire systems in 5 years that would be one part you wouldn't have to ever rewrite, everyone slags java off

c# seems so .. single platform and proprietry

good luck though man, I've never touched it

Comment

The problem with Java is that it's so SLOOOWWWW....

And you don't know what it's doing behind your back.

Jushin,

Try this:

Personally, I prefer just a reference to the language (if you know one &c. &c.) to start learning:

Good luck, let us know how you get on.

Comment

its a common misconception that java is slow, all VM's are now hotspot compilers which analyze frequently running iterative functions or loops etc and write them out as native machine code which is executed next time, basically the longer your program runs the faster and faster it gets.

with GCJ native binary compilers and such things as excelsior jet, its really one of the least things to worry about, especially as java object creation and manipulation speeds are just the same, if not faster, than C++.