Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quick Broadband Question(s)

Afternoon all,

Thinking about setting up a new 2MB broadband account in order to get onto the 360 live service. At the moment I do not have a PC and some people in the office have said that I will not be able to get straight on and play online with the console without configuring via a PC or laptop first? Surely it isn't that complicated?? I would appreciate some comments from people with a little more technical knowledge than I.

Regards, gardy09

yes you would need a pc to setup the modem as i'm not sure theres an option to enter your isp username and password for you to connect on xbox live

best option would be to use a router as that can store your isp username and password and the adsl connection will always be on and then its straight forward to connect the xbox to it

Comment

Thanks Wod

As I'm a complete novice at this type of thing, can you recommend a good router that would work ok for the 360?

Comment

You should be alright with just any old router that has more than one port, or by plugging everything into a hub. You'd better check that with someone who's had experience of XBox Live though, because I never have, have only ever used a hub for 16-player Halo.

Comment

I use a router for current live and it's very easy. As they say, you configure the router via a PC first to save user/pass details, then literally just plug the xbox in and away you go.

Normally that's all that's needed, all the networking gubbins and info is handled by the router acting as a DHCP server and the xbox as a DHCP client.

For the record I have a cheap n cheerful unbranded router too.

Comment

thanks babs,

could i just borrow a mates laptop, configure the live account and then away i go without needing the laptop again?

thanks

Comment

No you'll need a PC so that the internet can see your router.