Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NTSC Games On A PAL PS2....

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place to ask this.... but here goes anyway.

My girlfriend has recently purchased a game off ebay. The game is new and in NTSC format. Now, her PS2 is PAL and unchipped or modded . Obviously the game doesnt work on the machine and she is unwilling to mod / chip her PS2. To make things worse, the game in question has never been released in Europe, only USA .

Now I have heard that there is a "formatting" pin in a SCART lead and the removal of this pin will solve the problem and allow the PAL PS2 to play the NTSC game. Any ideas? Anyone else heard of this? Anyone know which pin it is?

Any and all help greatly appreciated.

Jam

In order to play games from any other region then Europe on your PAL PS2 is to get it chipped or use swap magic. I've never used swap magic before but if she doesn't want her console chipped, which would be the better option, you could give Swap Magic a try. I don't know how to use it though...

Comment

i think the best option is resell. Unless you want to buy her a NTSC PS2.

Comment

Originally posted by Jamcee
        Now I have heard that there is a "formatting" pin in a SCART lead and the removal of this pin will solve the problem and allow the PAL PS2 to play the NTSC game. Any ideas? Anyone else heard of this? Anyone know which pin it is?
        Never heard of this, and it wont work simply by modifying the scart cable, its to do with the insides of the console itself.

Best option is to buy a US or modified PS2 as it's now illegal to mod them. Or like danholo said, check out SwapMagic.

Comment

can i ask whats swapmagic as i really would like to import PS2 games from NTSC regions. Is it like the Gamecubes freeloader?

Comment

SwapMagic