X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what is MAME

im new to the arcade side of things,so could anyone tell me what MAME is
    Thanks

I think mame (multiple arcade machine emulator) is an arcade emulator, that allows to play all the old school arcade games, although ive never dabbled in it myself and there are 3700ish roms (games)u can (prolly ilegaly) download

www.mame.dk is a good place to go

ps u may want to register yourself on that site too

get yourself mame32 as this is the easiest way to play the roms

then prepare to get adicted to playing MAME

Comment

What fragmast3r said..

MAME is a program that emulates loads of arcade systems from the 70s to the 00's, from old Vector games to Capcom CPS to Neo Geo.

You can get 2 versions, which is quite confusing for newbies. They are both for Windows, but one doesn't have a GUI and you need to run it via command line or a 3rd party interface, or much much easier is MAME32 which has it's own interface. You can get Mame32 from http://www.classicgaming.com/mame32qa

Then all you need are the files (or ROM images) for the games you want to play.

As already said, www.mame.dk is the best resource, along with www.mame.net which is the official site.

Oh and dont forget to register at Mame DK

Comment

thanks for that always wondered what that was

Comment

Isn't it great trev. Now you can play Metal Slug on your PC now, and you don't even have to fork out for an AES or something stupidly expensive.

Although the whole scene is totally illigal, and the reson for it being shut down before. So: naughty boy.

Comment

If you have an intrest in arcade gaming Mame is "heaven on earth"

esp with a playstation Namco arcade stick and TV-out graphics/audio-out cards.

In fact arcade emulation was the main reason I got a PC - three years back.

Comment