Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stepdown for XRGB-3

Just ordered an XRGB-3.

For imports I've always had PAL machines with modchips rather than buying foreign consoles, so I'm totally new to stepdown converters.

I read the FAQ on this site, so I think I now know what's required, but can someone tell me how many watts I'll need?

Just found this site through Google...

UK Manufacturer, retailer & wholesaler of toroidal transformer products including voltage converters, boating transformers & conditioning balance supply

I presume that's the kind of thing I want? Or would anyone recommend buying from somewhere different?

Oh...and I presume VA = watts?

Thanks!

No, you'll just need to buy a UK transformer with the same output as the JPN one you'll get with it. It'll most likely be 9v, so a Mega Drive PSU may suffice.
    Kept you waiting, huh?

Comment

Originally posted by ZipZap View Post
      Oh...and I presume VA = watts?
      Nope, Volt Ampere.
      I'm using a 100 watt stepdown for my XRGB-3, it's overkill, but it works fine. The power supply outputs 11v at 2A and accepts both 50 and 60hz, and a 100-120v range as input, so any decent stepdown will do the work. Once I get home I'll take a look at the supply unit and post the whole label, I'm relying on memory and net data.

Comment

Resurrecting this thread to ask if there's a UK-equivalent power supply for the XRGB-3, as I'd like to avoid using a stepdown where possible. Does anybody have any ideas? I've had a peep at Maplin's website but I can't find anything that matches a DC11V/2A output on there.

Comment

I too am interested, unless my 2+ PSU is different. Stepdowns are pretty annoying.

Comment

You have to be a bit careful with step-down transformers. Some of the cheaper ones rated at 100v actually give out 125v, which causes overheating (and potential fire risk) with Japanese (wall type) PSU's.