Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone in/near London interested in ISF calibration?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone in/near London interested in ISF calibration?

Hope this isn't against forum rules, obviously let me know if it is!

I've had enough requests from people across Europe to come and calibrate their HDTVs to HDTV and PAL industry standards now that I've arranged a trip to London early next week (sometime around Wednesday October 23, Oct 24, and so on). I'm doing calibrations all day so daytime/evening is a possibility (although the evening slots are obviously filling up faster). If there's any interest on here, I'd happily extend that visit.

ISF calibration (I'm an ISF certified tech) involves measuring the luminance levels, as well as the hue and saturation points of colours, from your TV or projector screen, in your specific viewing environment, and using the basic and advanced controls to precisely offset (or "dial out") errors. It also involves finding any weak links in the video chain (bad deinterlacing, scaling etc) and compensating for them, and making sure all the sneaky behind-your-back video processing is avoided.

The goal is to make your TV match the HDTV, PAL and/or NTSC standards as closely as possible, so you see the real picture. The end goal is that you see "the whole picture, the right picture, and nothing but the picture", the same image the filmmakers/game designers/artists/DoPs etc saw during the content production: whites that are white rather than tinted blue, flesh tones that look like flesh rather than tan-in-a-can, grass that looks real rather than radioactive.

I'm using a Klein K-10 colorimeter, which is a meter that's actually accurate at low light levels, meaning it isn't thrown off by newer displays with very deep black levels.

Anyway, if you're about and interested, give me a PM or reply here, and let me know what display you're using.