1st NAS system/home network help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1st NAS system/home network help.

i am looking to set up basic home network, for distributing Movies/TV/Music around (to start with) 2 bedrooms.

i currently use 2 WDTV live media players with attached usb drives, which is a pain to constantly have to unplug to put more films/tv etc on them, so decided it would be better to have it in a central place so that it can be accessed anywhere.

all i want is to be able to play files through the WD (or what ever media device) via a power line network from the NAS.

looking at the below type set up.

Q1- is that a realistic/easy set up?
    Q2 = would this be a good NAS? looking at 2x4tb WD initially, with my current USB drives as back ups.

i'm a noob so go easy one me.

Yes, depending on the NAS, some have USB ports allowing you to plug in external drives which can then be shared via the NAS.

With the one you've linked it shouldn't need much in the way of setup, other than plugging it into your network switch / BT Hub (the NAS is will ideally be hardwired, though I'm sure wireless ones exist), so your PC wouldn't be plugging in to the NAS directly as you've shown, rather it will be accessing as a network device. The NAS can run the media sharing stuff, so the external drives will simply behave as an additional drive.

Comment

I would run Plex on your NAS. On the TVs something like a Fire TV stick will play anything.
      Those Netgears are OK if you are on a budget. The HP gen7/8 microservers are significantly better for around the same price when on offer. They are able to be installed with the Synology NAS OS. Once installed they are comparable to a Synology NAS costing around ?1k.

Comment

thank for the replies, its basically only be rips of my movie/music files i would want to access, budget is ?400 ish.

Comment