I want a quiet PC...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I want a quiet PC...

...and I want to build one from stratch.

Is this the best case for it? http://www.casetech.co.uk/product_in...roducts_id/635

And what other factors should I take into consideration?

Number of fans?
    Type of cooling?

How do I make it quiet whilst being powerful inside?

I've never done anything like this before so any tips would be useful...

All of those things are considerations, it depends upon how quiet you want it to be. Meanwhile take a look here - http://www.quietpc.com

Comment

I think the only reason that case is so deemed so quiet is it's parts, not its build or design.

1. Pentium 4s will run cool and quiet on the stock fan which is pretty decent, it can even handle a certain amount of overclocking too.
      2. Get a QuitePC PSU from the link marcus gave, they are pretty good.
      3. You can either fit rubber washers to the screws of your HD and CDR mounts or get a rubber cage for the HD which absorbs vibrations. Personally i think the HD is usually the most annoying sound from a PC, especially the high RPM drives which can whine horribly.
      4. If you really want loads of case fans, try the Papst range. They are very quiet and do fans with a decent airflow and noise rating - start at about 10db i think.
      5. Zalman do a few silent VGA coolers which you can use to cool you graphics card with no fans.

Even most of the people that overclock dont need the 10ft CPU fan and 39 case fans that they seem to have.

Comment

PSU, fans and discs are the key considerations.

Neil.

Comment

My watercooling rig was sub 18db.

Psu, HDD, northbridge fan, case fans - its much more expensive to silence a pc but worth it !

I recommend Papast fans (dont buy the hype about panaflos + other so called quiet fans, i have dozens of quiet fans that are very noisy. Papst are defi better and worth the money) I also ran them on rheostats to lessen the noise even more.