Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cyber Troopers Virtual-On Force (JP XB360, First Play)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cyber Troopers Virtual-On Force (JP XB360, First Play)

The Fourth is the Force. Apparently.

What does that even mean?

So I gave this a bit of an extended play time last night, and I honestly can't decide what to make of it.

I got into Oratorio Tangram quite a bit so thought it would be a given that i'd like this. Initial impressions were... disappointing. I was fully aware that the speed of play was much slower and I even played Virtual-On Marz and didn't think that was too bad, but this really didn't click with me when I started playing it.

First game was an arcade mode game with a friend, doing split screen co-op, which I thought was a real nice idea to do actually. Until the game started, and the screen is split into some absolutely RIDICULOUS size where it's trying to force two 4:3 boxes together in the middle of the screen. The screen area per person is absolutely tiny and from a distance we could just about play it, but seriously... that could've been implemented so much better.

As far as the gameplay was concerned, my friend didn't really have much of an idea what he was doing but still seemed to be doing okay for himself. It's easier to get into than VO:OT for sure, probably due to the slower speed of gameplay. I taught him a few things like dash cancelling, and jump cancelling to regain sight of the enemy and he was well on his way.

From what I can tell they've removed the different functions of left and right turbo, meaning you now just have one style of turbo attack. I kinda like this, I kinda don't.