Advice on Neo Geo AES

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Neo Geo AES

A retro gaming mate of mine is about to hit Akihabara in a couple of weeks and has asked if theres anything I want him to pick up. Naturally some hardware is in order as theres no filthy shipping or tax on it so I've decided it's finally time for a Neo Geo AES to set up shop in my entertainment cabinet. I'm pretty new to the AES scene and apart from some basic knowledge, such as try to get a unit with a serial under 100,000 and runs on 9v (for easy Megadrive PSU use), I'm not too knowledgeable.

So far I'm looking at a console, two sticks, memory card, and a King of Fighters game (either '97 or '98). Using Super Potato's website as a guide (I know they are not the cheapest but it's the best way to get an approx on pricing in the area) it's looking about the $280-$320AUS (?110-?130) mark which I don't mind going up on for additional loot. So lads, help a fellow ntsc-uk forumite out with any advice or recommendations. Cheers!

My advice is to get a Supergun, and an MVS board or a consolised MVS. It's more initially, but MVS games are way cheaper and you get more choice too.
    Kept you waiting, huh?

Comment

My advice is get KOF98 and Samurai Shodown 2, probably two of the best games ever made in the history of video games.

Comment

Originally posted by BluntX View Post
        try to get a unit with a serial under 100,000 and runs on 9v (for easy Megadrive PSU use), I'm not too knowledgeable.
        Early models are 5v

Comment

Get an old Neo indeed, I have a language modded machine in the 50000 range and it has superb RGB output as well as great sound. I have no memorycard yet but I doubt if I want it. All it does is saving progress (I believe it does not save highscores) while I want to beat those arcade games in one go.