Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Games you wish you'd left in the past...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Games you wish you'd left in the past...

I love retro...
    Or at least I thought I loved retro...
    I have so many fond memories of games I played and loved. I retain a lot of these games for nostaliga and do return to some every now and again.

I played Secret of Mana when it was originally released on the SNES all those years ago. I have so many fond memories of the game; I adored it, in fact I would probably have put it in my top ten games of all time; until a month ago...

I started playing it again recently and I am more than slightly distressed at much I am NOT enjoying the game.

I've just got to the forest of seasons and I've been dumped with no option to rest and restore my party; I have to either keep them alive or bring them to life with a cup of wishes.

I have no magic for the characters so I have to spend 2000GP!! on a fairy walnut if I want to use any magic.

I wandered the seasons getting the sh!t kicked out of me by normal enemies, even tho I have the best armour I can buy only to stumble on a boss fight with both my team dead and me at half health; death comes in 2 hits - all the way back to my last save point.

I do it again, gear myself for the boss and resave before hand. I walk in on the boss, he casts balloon (can't remember the name), I can't move, he jumps all over me - dead

I do it again, my AI teammates get themselves killed and he hits me with level 4 lightning bolt, which takes off more than my maximum health - dead

This kind of thing has happened to me at least 2 more times so far and I'm only 6 hours into the game. The AI is completely useless and gets itself killed, even when I tell them to stay away from things.

This experience has completely marred any nostaliga I had for the game, I have no desire to want to play the game or care if I ever play it again.