Sega Saturn - 20th Anniversary of Japanese launch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sega Saturn - 20th Anniversary of Japanese launch

Today November 22nd marks 20 years since the release of the Sega Saturn. So let's discuss the wonders of the system, even if it didn't sell that well. Sega sure made some truly great games for it.

Yeah this time 20 years ago I was sitting in my bed room playing Virtual Fighter on a 26inch Toshiba Surround Sound TV in RGB. Man, I was 19 and it was magical!

Comment

Removed the 230V PSU in my Saturn and installed a fuse socket from a PlayStation power supply into the 100V blown PSU that it came with. Had previously installed a new varistor so it's all good to go now. It's funny, I've been playing Sega Rally Championship for 20 years now and it still doesn't get old. Definitely need to purchase some of the more obvious stuff like Panzer Dragoon and the Nights titles. I'm very much in the PlayStation camp but cross platform stuff can either be better on the Saturn or PlayStation and the Saturn had plenty of exclusives due to AM2 and other arcade ports.

My controller situation is pretty dire at the moment though, what you get buying faulty machine only auctions I guess!

Comment

I've only recently started collecting for Saturn, and I've been blown away by it. If anything i'm tempted to sell my PS4 just to enable me to buy more saturn stuff. The games had soul, and you really can't beat the sega arcade games from back then. Sega Rally is utterly sensational.

I was 10 when the saturn and PSone war was happening, and like most kids in the UK I subconsciously went for Sony, and never experienced what the Saturn had to offer. Definitely to my benefit now however, as I have a whole world to discover.

Comment

You really ought to get yours modded to play imports. PAL stuff is eughh.

Comment