i Just noticed this (component)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

i Just noticed this (component)

I'm all set to get my HDTV this weekend, i found a nice samsung 50" and i thought everything was fine.

I'm not too tech minded (well none atall) but from what everyone has been saying about samsung i just thought it would be ok.

However! i Just noticed from the description that it might not have component sockets for my 360, please someone tell me i have it wrong, or either way, please put me correct.

Telly is here http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/455_324540.html

Thank you.

I've no personal experience of the set, but from the description it doesn't seem to have component input.

It seems to have HDMI though, which is where it would still get it's HD Ready tag from.

Comment

I'm not getting my 360 on it am i via the cables i bought, there goes that!

Comment

Just use VGA for the 360 - it's a better signal than component anyway.

The PS3 will no doubt support VGA as well and as Spatial mentioned, it's future-proofed via HDMI for HD broadcast signals.

Comment

Seems strange that it wouldn't have component. The official page for that set confuses things further by listing a bunch of modes rather than having a tick in the rear component input section:

Comment

Thanks all for all the help, will it definitely work with the vga cables then? Is that a 100% thing before i go buying more stuff, thank you.

Comment

No DVI input listed on that Comet site for the television. Sorry.

Comment

Just use VGA for the 360 - it's a better signal than component anyway.
                erm no it isn't - component is a better signal for the 360, you will see screen refresh/slowdown issues when using vga

Comment

You know, there's a fair chance Comet may have the specifications wrong. If you want that TV, I'd post on AVForums and ask for confirmation of the inputs from owners/knowledgable people before making any decisions.

Comment