Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The AI Thread | Ringfencing the discussion

So... AI.

It's come up in other threads a fair bit, even de-railing one at one point, so it's probably good that we have a thread.

Similar to some of the thread which have come up lately, I'll probably do this in the form of providing questions, and then tailoring questions based on people's answers.

So...

Have you used any of the AI tools that have made so much news in the last ~18 months? What did you do with them, and why?

Well you know I have. Impressive, intriguing, lots of fun and a bit terrifying all in one. My main experience has been in the text generators such as ChatGPT and image generators such as Midjourney. There are loads of other things going on, obviously, but I haven’t explored much beyond text and still images.

In images, what has hugely impressed me is the speed of advancement. I think I started playing with AI in 2019 and it was able to make fun, trippy images that were absolutely no use whatsoever, although even back then there were AI filters that were pretty good. But the level at which the generative AI has jumped in that time has been insane. It’s very easy to still find flaws in AI-generated imagery but the reality is that it’s already better than many working artists and it achieves results in the space of minutes. For me, the fun part is in playing with the stupid stuff, such as asking it to show me He-Man and Skeletor looking sad while having a beer together. My favourite output came from an afternoon of trying to get Midjourney to give me Dario Argento’s Godzilla. Took me a lot of playing with the prompts but eventually got a very cool output and, honestly, something I would call genuinely creative (with the caveat that there is a lot to debate about the nature of the art, due to AI having no sense of intention).